AGENDA 2014


EXHIBITIONS



May 30 - July 26

Scottish Diaspora Tapestry


Special activities during the exhibition period: click here




Museum De Schotse Huizen

VISIT OUR MUSEUM


Daily from 10.00 AM to 17.00 PM


Admission

€4,50 p.p. including a visit to the ancient Town Hall), children up to 12 yrs: free


Kaai 25-27

4351 AA  VEERE

+31 (0)118-501744

museum@museumveere.nl

Welcome to The Scottish Houses


Behind the facades of these two characteristic buildings lies a journey through past and present for the entire family. Porcelain, furniture and various exhibition  concerning  the ’unknow’  Veere artist colony, make the museum extraordinary.

Home Geschiedenis Exposities Stadhuisbeelden Activiteiten Vrienden Voor kinderen Informatie

These two imposing and richly historical houses situated at the side of Veere’s harbour, with facades made of imported natural stone were built during the first half of the 16th century in the late gothic style and were originally identical. Their names, ‘De Struys’ (the Ostrich) and ‘Het Lammeken’ (the Lamb), are reminiscent of the flourishing wool trade with Scotland. Veere always had strong commercial ties with Scotland. This special bond was strengthened in 1444 with the marriage of Wolfert VI van Borsele, Lord of Veere, with Mary Stewart, daughter of king James I of Scotland.

At the beginning of the 16th century, trade with Scotland became important to the Island of Walcheren. In 1541, after considerable effort, Veere was granted staple-rights to Scottish Wool for the Low Countries, encouraging Scottish merchants to establish themselves there on a permanent basis. In exchange, this Scottish community received special privileges: it had its own church (part of the main church of Veere), jurisdiction and special accommodation. It also received tax exemptions. The ‘so called’ Scottish Houses functioned as offices, warehouses and living quarters. The Napoleonic Rule of the Netherlands brought an end to this lucrative period and forced the Scots to return to their homeland.


An international artist’s colony
At the end of the 19th century the Scottish Houses once again played a crucial role in Veere’s cultural life. Foreign (Belgian) artist-painters discovered the sleepy picturesque fishing town with its beautiful gothic town hall, its impressive but unfinished church, its quay with charming historical houses and the coming and going of traditional wooden fishing boats (hoogaarsen) with dark brownish red cotton sails.

In 1896 the English businessman and art collector Albert Lionell Ochs (1857-1921) purchased one of the Scottish houses, ‘The Ostrich’, and turned his home into a meeting place for resident and passing artists, with the help of his only daughter Alma Francis Ochs (Oakes) (1889-1987). The internationally orientated artist colony had many visitors between 1900 and 1940. However, in 1961 a dam was built at the entrance to the sea arm that connected Veere with the Northsea, to protect her inhabitants from dangerous floods. This slowly but surely brought about the end of Veere’s artist colony. The small town was deprived of her artistic inspiration, the sea with its tidal flows. The colourful, traditional fishing fleet with its fishermen and fish auction was replaced by ‘dull’ recreational navigation. When the well known Veere artist Sáriká Góth (1900-1992) passed away, the old Veere artist’s colony seemed to have come to its end for good.

Today, at the beginning of the 21st century about ten artists live in the small town of Veere again. Who knows, maybe there is hope for the revival of a new and vibrant artistic community!


Information
If you have any questions feel free to contact us.









Related: The Scottish Rooms